IIT Gandhinagar: 15 Years of ExcellenceNews

Dr. JL Nayyar Scholarship

Dr. JL Nayyar Scholarship

Dr. JL Nayyar scholarship was instituted by Mr. Mohinder L. Nayyar in the year 2017 and is open to all B.Tech students. The scholarship amount is Rs. 1 lakh per student per year and is awarded to one B.Tech student every year in order to support internships (international or domestic), special projects and opportunities, financial needs, etc. B.Tech students with a minimum CPI of 6.5 are eligible. Preference is given to the student who has demonstrated exemplary oral & written communication and presentation skills during the first six semesters.

Mr. Mohinder L. Nayyar, P.E., a resident of Virginia, USA, is an internationally recognized specialist in the areas of piping, valves, materials and codes and standards and was honored by ASME for his contributions to Codes and Standards. Mr. Nayyar is the recipient of several honors and awards, including the Melvin R. Green Medal, ASME Forever Medal for Excellence in piping, ASME Hall of Fame Medal, Master of Power Piping Award, and the ASME Dedicated Service Award. He is a recipient of 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award of IIT Roorkee. He is the author and Editor-in-Chief of the Sixth and Seventh editions of the Piping Handbook and the Piping Databook, internationally used reference books, published by McGraw-Hill Company of New York. He has published articles in Valve Magazine; authored an article title Pipeline for the 7th edition of the Encyclopedia of Science and Technology. He has instituted this scholarship in the honour of his brother Dr. JL Nayyar.

Meet the Recipients

Current Recipients (AY 2022-2023)

Pandit Shubham Bhagvandas | B.Tech Electrical Engineering

Past Recipients

Souritra Garai | B.Tech-M.Tech Dual Degree Chemical Engineering

Chris Francis | B.Tech Computer Science & Engineering

Kratika Bhagtani | B.Tech Electrical Engineering

Jammu Tarun Kumar | B.Tech Materials Science & Engineering

Aketi Sai Aparna | B.Tech Electrical Engineering

Instituted By

Mr. Mohinder L Nayyar

Amount of Scholarship per Year

Rs. 1 Lakh

Number of Scholarships

01 per year


B.Tech students with a minimum CPI of 6.5. Preference given to the students demonstrating exemplary oral & written communication and presentation skills during the first three years of stay.