भा.प्रौ.सं. गाँधीनगर: उत्कृषटता के 15 वर्षसमाचार

Prem Chand Pandey


Prem Chand Pandey

Adjunct Professor, Earth Sciences

  • MSc: Allahabad University, 1966
  • PhD: Allahabad University, 1972

Email: pcpandey -AT- iitgn.ac.in

  • Selected Publications

    1. Raju Jithendra N., Mihir K. Dash, P. K. Bhaskaran and Prem Chand Pandey (2021), Numerical Investigation of Bidirectional Mode-1 and -2 Internal Solitary Wave Generation from North and South of Batti Malv Island, Nicobar Islands, India; Journal of Physical Oceanography, 51, 47 – 51, DOI 10.1175/JPO-D-19-0182.1

    2. Samiran Mandal, Nibedita Behera, Avijit Gangopadhyay, R. Dwi Susanto, and Prem Chand Pandey (2021), Evidence of a Chlorophyll “Tongue” in the Malacca Strait from Satellite Observations. Journal of Marine Systems, 223, 103610. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jmarsys.2021.103610 .

    3. Dey S. P., Mihir K. Dash , P. Deb, D. Samanta, R. Sharma, R. M. Gairola, Raj Kumar and Prem Chand Pandey, (2018), Unusual Premonsoon Eddy and Kelvin Wave Activities in the Bay of Bengal During Indian Summer Monsoon Deficit in June 2009 and 2012, IEEE Geoscience and Remote Sensing Letters, 15, No. 4, 483 – 487, DOI: 10.1109/LGRS.2018.2802543

    4. Samiran Mandal, Sourav Sil, Abhijit Shee, Debadatta Swain, and Prem Chand Pandey, (2018), Comparative analysis of SCATSat-1 Gridded Winds with Buoys, ASCAT and ECMWF Winds in the Bay of Bengal. IEEE Journal of Selected Topics in Applied Earth observations and Remote Sensing, 11 (3). https://doi.org/10.1109/JSTARS.2018.2798621 .

    5. Dipanjan Dey, Sourav Sil, Sudip Jana, Saikat Pramanik, and Prem Chand Pandey, (2017), An assessment of TropFlux and NCEP air-sea fluxes on ROMS simulations over the Bay of Bengal region. Dynamics of Atmospheres and Oceans, 80, 47-61, https://doi.org/10.1016/j.dynatmoce.2017.09.002

  • Work Experience

    • Visiting Professor: Department of Earth Sciences, IIT Gandhinagar since July 2024.

    • Adjunct Professor: Discipline of Earth Sciences, IIT Gandhinagar since Jan 2021.

    • Visiting Professor: Center for Ocean, River, Atmosphere and Land Sciences (CORAL), Indian Institute of Technology, IIT, Kharagpur-72 1302, India, November, 2017 till November 2019.

    • Emeritus/Visiting Professor: School of Earth, Ocean and Climate Sciences, Indian Institute of Technology Bhubaneswar, At/PO. Jatni, Dist- Khurda, Odisha-752050; September, 2011 – November, 2017.

    • Emeritus/Visiting Professor: Center for Ocean, River, Atmosphere and Land Sciences (CORAL), Indian Institute of Technology, IIT, Kharagpur-72 1302, India, Dec 2005 to August 2011.

    • Founding Director: National Centre for Polar and Ocean Research (NCPOR), Goa: May 1997 to August 2005.

    • Founding Head (Scientist SG): Oceanic Sciences Division, Space Applications Centre, and Ahmedabad-380015: January 1992 to May 1997.

    • Scientist SF: January 1985 to January 1992, Space Applications Centre, Ahmedabad – 380015.

    • NRC-NASA Senior Resident Research Associate: Jet Propulsion Laboratory, NASA, USA and worked on UARS- Microwave Limb Sounder (MLS) for minor constituent studies in earth’s atmosphere for Climate Research. 1987 – 1989

    • Scientist SE (Merit promotion): Space Application Centre, Ahmedabad-380015: August 1981 to January 1985.

    • NRC-NASA Senior Resident Research Associate: Jet Propulsion Laboratory, NASA, USA, and worked on SEASAT mission, first mission dedicated to Ocean Research by NASA, December 1980 to April 1983

    • Scientist SD: Space Application Centre (ISRO), Ahmedabad. April 1977 to August 1981

    • Research Officer (Instrumentation) and Team Leader (Transducer Group): Central Water and Power Research Station, Khadakwasla, Pune, January 1973 to April 1977.

    • Research Scholar-JRF/SRF (CSIR): Physics Department, Allahabad University, Allahabad. 1968 - 1972

    • Lecturer: D.A.V. Degree College Azamgarh, UP, India. August 1966 to July 1967

  • Awards

    • • Certificate of Recognition and Cash Award-1985 by NASA
    • • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for Science and Technology (1989)
    • • Vigyan Gaurav Award by the Council of Science and Technology, Government of Uttar Pradesh (2001–02)
    • • Prof. K. R. Ramanathan Memorial Gold Medal awarded by the Indian Geophysical Union (2007)
    • • Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Awards in Engineering Including Energy and Aero Space 2004–2005
    • • Hari Om Ashram Prerit Dr. Vikram Sarabhai Award and gold medal in the field of Atmospheric Sciences and Hydrology, in 1987 (first recipient in ISRO)
    • • Khosla National Award, Gold Medal and Citation by Indian Institute of Technology, Roorkee, during convocation Ceremony, 15 November 2007
    • • The Rekha Nandi and Bhupesh Nandi Prize from the Institution of Engineers (India)
    • • D.Sc. (Hornoris Causa) from V.B.S. Purvanchal University, Jaunpur