IIT Gandhinagar: 10 Years of ExcellenceNews


Holiday List 2020

List of Institute Closed Holidays During The Year-2020

Sl. No. Holiday Date Day
1 Makar Sankranti January 15 Wednesday
2 Republic Day January 26 Sunday
3 Holi March 10 Tuesday
4 Mahavir Jayanti April 6 Monday
5 Good Friday April 10 Friday
6 Buddha Purnima May 07 Thursday
7 Idu’l Fitr May 25 Monday
8 Id-ul-Zuha (Bakrid) August 1 Saturday
9 Janamashtami (Vaishnavi) August 12 Wednesday
10 Independence Day August 15 Saturday
11 Muharram August 30 Sunday
12 Mahatma Gandhi’s Birthday October 2 Friday
13 Dussehra October 25 Sunday
14 Milad-un-Nabi or Id-e-Milad (Birthday of Prophet Mohammad) October 30 Friday
15 Diwali (Deepavali) November 14 Saturday
16 Guru Nanak’s Birthday November 30 Monday
17 Christmas Day December 25 Friday

 

List of Institute Restricted Holidays During The Year-2020

Sl. No. Holiday Date Day
1 New Year's Day January 01 Wednesday
2 Guru Gobind Singh’s Birthday January 02 Thursday
3 Lohri January 13 Monday
4 Makar Sankrati/ Pongal January 15 Wednesday
5 Basant Panchami/ Sri Panchami January 30 Thursday
6 Guru Ravidas’s Birthday February 09 Sunday
7 Swami Dayananda Saraswati Jayanti February 18 Tuesday
8 Shivaji Jayanti February 19 Wednesday
9 Maha Shivaratri February 21 Friday
10 Holika Dahan/ Dolyatra March 09 Monday
11 Hazarat Ali’s Birthday March 09 Monday
12 Chaitra Sukladi/ Gudi Padava/ Ugadi/ Cheti Chand March 25 Wednesday
13 Easter Sunday April 12 Sunday
14 Vaisakhi/ Vishu April 13 Monday
15 Mesadi/ Vaisakhadi (Bengal)/ Bahag Bihu (Assam) April 14 Tuesday
16 Guru Rabindranath’s Birthday May 08 Friday
17 Jamat-Ul-Vida May 22 Friday
18 Rath Yatra June 23 Tuesday
19 Raksha Bandhan August 03 Monday
20 Janmashtami (Smarta) August 11 Tuesday
21 Parsi New Year’s day/ Nauraj August 16 Sunday
22 Vinayaka Chaturthi/ Ganesh Chaturthi August 22 Saturday
23 Onam or Thiru Onam Day August 31 Monday
24 Dussehra (Maha Saptami) (Additional) October 23 Friday
25 Dussehra (Maha Ashtami) (Maha Navmi) (Additional) October 24 Saturday
26 Vijay Dashmi (Bengal, Kerala) October 26 Monday
27 Maharishi Valmiki’s Birthday October 31 Saturday
28 Karaka Chaturthi (Karva Chouth) November 04 Wednesday
29 Naraka Chaturdasi November 14 Saturday
30 Govardhan Puja November 15 Sunday
31 Bhai Duj November 16 Monday
32 Pratihar Sashthi or Surya Sashthi (Chhat Puja) November 20 Friday
33 Guru Teg Bahadur’s Martyrdom Day November 24 Tuesday
34 Christmas Eve December 24 Thursday