IIT Gandhinagar: 10 Years of ExcellenceNews

Faculty Chairs

Smt. Amba and Sri V S Sastry Distinguished Visiting Chair

Professor A V Anilkumar of Vanderbilt University and a well-wisher of the Institute has established the 'Smt Amba and Sri V S Sastry Distinguished Visiting Chair', in honour of Professor Anilkumar's parents.

Smt. Amba and Sri V S Sastry

Every year, a currently active distinguished academic in engineering, humanities or science of international stature will be invited to spend atleast one month at IITGN for lectures, interactions and research collaborations.
The general terms and conditions of this position are as follows:

  • • The visiting faculty member must be an active member of the community (not retired)
  • • Distinguished colleagues from industry/research labs may also be considered
  • • May also deliver a Roddam Narasimha Distinguished Lecture during his/her visit to IITGN
  • • Appropriate funding is available to cover travel expenses and honorarium of the visiting professor

Dr. A.V. Anilkumar
The Donor

Dr. A.V. Anilkumar is a professor of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering Practice and Director of the Aerospace Design Laboratory at Vanderbilt University. He holds a PhD in Mechanical Engineering and Aeronautics from the Graduate Aerospace Laboratories at the California Institute of Technology.